I'm not really a museum guy, and especially don't ask me any questions, because I don't know. But this is an impressive small museum, with succinct and helpful descriptions in English, as well as Georgian and Russian. I've only labelled a few of the items, and I've included items that caught my eye. Or ideas - I like "stones of sin!"



Early spear points from the iron age. (Google tells me: The Iron Age started between 1200 B.C. and 600 B.C., depending on the region.)


"Stones with holes, discovered at Khaishi and Ushguli mound settlement are characteristic of only Svaneti. Their purpose can be explained only by recourse to the ethnographic material. They are generally related to the so-called "stones of sin" that were hung round the neck to atone for a crime."




A carved wooden pulpit.


Religious texts written on scrolls.


It's not obvious in the photo, but this is a woman's saddle, tilted to the left side so it can be ridden side-saddle. I've never seen that.


A massive bench for a house, also with ceremonial uses.




Beautiful, ornate religious doo-hickey.


A room of religious art.


Beautifully displayed, I think.


Wow. From the description:
  • lcon of the Archangel Gabriel
  • With an extensive donor's inscription. 13th century. Latali commune.
  • Wood, wax, gilt silver, niello, gems, intaglio
  • "Ch. Holy Archangel of Mukheri, not made by human hand, glorify the Bagrationi kings, and Dadiani and the nobles and united Georgia and the united Svans and the Latali ravine and build your building village of Laili and all who praise thee. Amen."
  • "God forgive me, the sinful elder and deacon Abram."






Powder horn, for carrying gunpowder.






The view from the front window of the museum.


National Geographic with the Georgian script.


I'm told people can read this. Seems impossible.


(The End)