Why is this dork smiling? Because he climbed 800 meters, (2,500 feet,) to this point up a steep as fuck trail, with no heart palpitations. But I still have to hike back down the same distance on another trail...

Wow, what a day. That was a much harder hike than I planned, and a LOT steeper. I spent a lot of time with an older German couple and their 16 year old daughter who live in London. We walked down together and had a beer in one place and dinner in another. We talked about travel, and death, and cultures, and medical stuff, and ridiculous medical insurance in the US. She's a doctor in London.

He had an emergency hernia surgery last year. He was a little shocked that I did this walk only 4 weeks after my hernia surgery.

I told him the doctor said there were no restrictions on walking, and he said, "I think you've taken a creative interpretation of your doctor's advice!"

Me: what do you mean?

He said, "I don't think he meant this walk." Oh. I guess that makes sense. He wasn't allowed to drive a car for 6 weeks.

Photos from the walk, below:
















(The End)