The Tibetan Buddhist monks in Dharamkot, 200 meters from my guest house, smiling at my worldly concerns. Compassionately.

As I was debating about having my hernia surgery done near Dharamsala, a tiny sore erupted on my upper lip. Look how fast this bugger grew!


Sexy!


I sent photos to my doctor in Delhi, and he said, "you need to get a biopsy on that ugly bastard!" Those are not his exact words.


I couldn't imagine how he could cut the whole thing out and still leave me with a normal lip! I was still wondering as I saw how I looked here.


It healed relatively quickly. Eating was a pain and I dribbled like a baby, with stitches reaching around and under the lip.




Not that bad already.


This year and last year.


Just in time for my hernia surgery. Would it be inappropriate to say that I look like a gay samurai? If you happen to actually be a gay samurai (not that there's anything wrong with that!) and are offended, I apologize.


Sweet digs.


The view from my hospital room.


After two surgeries and needing time to recover, I treated myself to a stay in the Marriott. I had no idea how fancy they are.






The amazing breakfast buffet. At first I didn't want to stay at a Marriott, and then I didn't want to leave.


Just in time for: a second surgery on my lip. Criminy. The biopsy came back showing squamous cell carcinoma skin cancer, and the margins weren't clean. Doc, come on, you can't pull off a miracle twice - will I still even have a lip?


Not pleased. Drinking meals through a straw. Crying at the breakfast buffet for all the food I can't eat.


Getting better slowly.


I thought I'd end up like this.


Hey! Nine days after surgery, close enough. I think I'm done here.


10 days after the second lip surgery, 21 days after hernia surgery, I fled Delhi, on my way to Tbilisi, Georgia. Here's me in the taxi to the airport at 3 am.


(The End, for now.)